Something Wicked

Published July 8, 2011 by caitlinnicoll

So, I have a blog. Yea. WOO! Party! *passes around cupcakes (with butter-cream filling!) and slushies*

For my first post, I thought I would get in on the Something Wicked Blogfest. I know I’m late to the party, but it’s my blog, and I’ll do what I want.

So, without further ado, my three favorite speculative fiction stories ARE!

ONE! Howl’s Moving Castle

Both the book and the movie.

I found the book to be delightfully whimsical. It has everything you need in a great fantasy–magic, love, evil witches, snarky fire demons. Howl’s Moving Castle tells the story of Sophie Hatter, a young girl cursed by the Witch of the Waste. Turned into an old woman, she sets out for the Wastes to try and break the spell, and comes across Howl’s Castle. Despite his nefarious reputation of eating the hearts of young girls, she enters and meets the fire Demon Calcifer, and learns that both he and Howl are under curses as well. Sophie and Calcifer strike a bargain with each other to figure out how to break the others curse, and she becomes Howl’s cleaning lady. Magic and mayhem ensues from there.

Favorite character: I love Howl. He may be one of my favorite literary characters ever. He is handsome, charming, flamboyant, lazy and an expert slither-er outer-er. He is perfectly flawed and endearingly so.

Christian Bale..er...Howl and Sophie

The movie, adapted and directed by the amazing Hayao Miyazaki, takes Diana’s world and elevates it to a whole new level. It is different, as most movie adaptations are, but no less wonderful. And the most important part about the movie is that Howl is voiced by Christian Bale. ‘Nuff said.

Get the first 10 Doctors for the incredibly low rate of $9 billion and 63ยข. *11 not included.

TWO! Doctor Who

One of the longest sci-fi shows on television, Doctor Who is a show of epically genius proportions. The series follows the Doctor, a 900 year old Time Lord as he travels through all of time and space in the TARDIS (an acronym for Time And Relative Dimension(s) In Space), picking up a medley of companions and encountering many foes in the process. It’s fantasy. It’s sci-fi. It has mind bending twists and turns. To keep the show running after the lead actor left, The producers of the show came up with the genius solutionย by making the Doctor capable of regenerating when he dies. Hence multiple doctors.

Favorite Doctor: As much as I love 4 and 10, I am going to have to say the current Doctor, who is portrayed by Matt Smith. I choose him because we both share that same quirky weirdness. It’s all about relating to the Doctor.

Favorite companion: Captain Jack Harkness. Besides having an awesome name, he may have the best storyline/history ever.

Favorite Monster/villian: Doctor Who also has some of the most brilliantly scary monsters that I have ever encountered. The Vashta Nerada. The Gas Mask Child (are you my mummy? *shudder*). The Silence. But none of them hold a candle against the Weeping Angels. Seriously. If you don’t believe me, watch Blink. You’ll never look at a statue the same way again. I will not show a picture of what they look like because the image of an Angel becomes an Angel.

THREE! Sailor Moon

Not really a big surprise for anyone that knows me. Like Doctor Who, Sailor Moon is a little bit fantasy and a little bit sci-fi. Much like Twilight introduced books to a whole legion of teenagers to books, Sailor Moon introduced manga to young girls in the early ’90s, only with much better storytelling. It follows Usagi, a lazy and easily frightened teenager as she discovers that she is actually Sailor Moon, a superhero destined to protect the earth from invading aliens. It teaches young girls about the power of friendship and has one of those rare cases of a female mentor.

It was adapted into an anime series, and if you are going to watch it, I highly suggest watching the Japanese version with subtitles because the American actress who voices Usagi is really annoying.

I was really excited to learn that they will be re-releasing the manga in the US this fall.

Favorite character: Hmm… I really like Haruka and Michiru–Sailor Uranus and Neptune. I like the mysterious playfulness of their relationship.

Honorable Mentions:

LOTR

I love LOTR. Always have and always will. But since everyone already knows how awesome it is, I decided to focus on lesser known favorites.

Princess Mononoke and Ponyo by Hayao Miyazaki

There is no denying that Hayao Miyazaki is a master at film-making. His films are beautiful, stunning, evocative, and these two, along with Howl’s Moving Castle, are my favorite of his. Princess Mononoke takes the age old tale of man against nature, and turns it into something truly stunning and original. With Ponyo, he has a refreshing take on the Little Mermaid tale. It’s cute, its funny and Ponyo is endearing in her determination to be with Sลsuke.

Buffy

A snarky, ass-kicking teenager who fights vampires and other denizens of the night. Also, Spike might possible be one of the greatest vampires ever. His one-liners alone are worth watching the series.

What are everyone’s favorites? Have you seen/read any of my choices?

14 comments on “Something Wicked

  • Ah, Sailormoon. My first favorite anime. And I had so much stuff from that fandom that I recently sold on eBay.

    Did you know, the German Starlocket is worth $200? That is how much that fandom survives.

    • In elementary school, my friends and I would play Sailor Moon. I was always Jupiter.
      That much really? I do know the original manga is outrageously priced on Amazon. That’s why I was so happy they were re-releasing it. I’m poor.

      • Yeah. And the scepter went for $45. Mostly because these things aren’t available anymore. :3

        I always liked Chibiusa\Reenie\Rini. And no one else did.

        Granted, I was in High School, and no one else liked manga. XD I was cool when it wasn’t cool! XD

  • Miyazaki films! I actually liked Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away more than Howl’s Moving Castle, though. Especially Spirited Away.

    I remember seeing some Sailor Moon as a kid, but I’ve never been interested enough to watch all of it. My favourite anime is currently Mushishi, but it’s followed closely by Cowboy Bebop, Baccano! and Full Metal Alchemist (Brotherhood).

    • I forgot about Mushi-Shi! I’ve seen a few episodes of Full Metal Alchemist, but I keep forgetting about it. I’m going to have to add that to my Netflix, so I don’t forget. I’ve been a bad watcher of TV.

      Princess Mononoke is one of my favorite films, but Howl’s Moving Castle goes ahead of it only because of how much I love the book.

  • Howl’s Moving Castle is my favorite Miyazaki! and I adore Howl as well, for the same reasons you do – he wants to do the right thing, mostly, but he’s also lazy and just wants to play and have a good time with life. and he’s got a really sexy voice! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ahhh, Doctor Who, one of my latest obsessions. I’m a ten girl.

  • Leave a Reply

