The Spark That Ignited a Fire

Published August 25, 2011 by caitlinnicoll

What author set off that spark of inspiration for your current Work in Progress?

The scope of Tolkien’s world-building has always amazed me. Particularly the Silmarillion. After reading through thousands of years of made-up history of various races, including mythos and origins, I was in complete awe. My mind was literally blown at the depth of detail that he went into. I loved the back story of the elves, and how all the races were created. I loved the tragic tales of the heroes of old. I loved the origins of the One Ring and Sauron. I even loved Gollum’s tale.

I knew that when I started writing my current wip, I wanted the world to be that vast, that all encompassing. I wanted to create my own mythos. I wanted to create countries with their own laws, histories, customs, and superstitions. I wanted to create heroes that my heroes could aspire to be. I wanted it all.

I don’t go into every book I write intending to have that much back story, but with TLF, since I was already creating a whole new set of gods and mythos, I though well why not? It’s a daunting and exciting process and I love doing it, even if sometimes trying to connect all the dots drives me nuts. Losing my sanity is worth it.

7 comments on “The Spark That Ignited a Fire

  • I love The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. I haven’t read The Silmarillion. I’m pretty sure either my dad or brother owns it, so I should borrow it. J.R.R. Tolkien was truly in a class of his own!

  • Leave a Reply

