top 6’s

Published October 15, 2011 by caitlinnicoll

Warning: You will now be subjected to a highly biased post.

In compiling this list, I realized that while I’ve read a lot of vampirey books, and watched a lot of sanguine movies, there are still many I have not experienced. This will be remedied.

As you will see, I’m kind of an Anne Rice fan. Yet again, I blame my mother.

Favorite Vampires

6. Akasha

From Queen of the Dammed

Akasha is crazy. She is also strong, powerful, and extremely old. She is the villain of the Queen of the Dammed, but she is by no means evil. A little zealous in her convictions, but not evil.

5. Hanabusa Aido

From Vampire Knight


Aido is what I would call a sneaky character. He is a secondary character and the comic relief in the series. He is cute and charming, and knows it. Despite this seemingly frivolous behavior, he is loyal, often risking his life for the Kurans.

4. Erik Northman

From True Blood

I like vampires. I like Vikings. Vampire Viking? Even better. Especially ones that look like Erik.

3. Damon Salvatore

From the Vampire Diaries


Damon is another crazy vampire. He does what he wants, when he wants, and doesn’t a damn what others think. Well, except for Elena.

2. Spike

From Buffy the Vampire Slayer

If you have ever seen Buffy, then you know why I love Spike. If not, well, what are you waiting for?

1. Lestat de Lioncourt

From The Vampire Chronicles

Lestat is the ultimate vainglorious vampire. He is willful, psychotic, and self-indulgent.

I’m starting to see a pattern in the characters I like. Charming. Crazy. Funny. That about sums the list up.

Favorite Movies/ Shows

6. Blood: the Last Vampire

5. Daybreakers


4. Lost Boys

3. Interview With the Vampire

2. The Vampire Diaries

1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer


Favorite Books

6. Red Headed Step Child by Jaye Wells


5. Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

4. I am Legend by Richard Matheson

3. The Queen of the Dammed by Anne Rice

2.  Vampire Knight by Matsuri Hino

Speaking of Vampire Knight, I bet the next chapter is available. *disappears*


1. The Vampire Lestat
by Anne Rice

Things I would like to see more of in vampire fiction

6. Less sparkle, more sharp, pointy teeth please.

5. More YA vampire horror a la Lost Boys. That’s not really horror. Um, more horror, more stories like the Lost Boys. Something like that.

4. More vampires based on other cultures versions. As you can see, there is a plethora of vampire mythos to choose from. Some far more interesting than the traditional Western European vampire (still dibs on the Indian girl myth).

3. More novels based in a historical setting. I think that’s why I love Anne Rice so much. I’m a sucker for a good historical fiction.

2. More girl vampire protags, or love interests. I think the sexy male vampire falling in love with the average human trope has been done to death. I want to see a female vampire protag fall in love with an average male. Or a nerd (see below).

1. Nerdy vampires. That just goes without saying.

What are your favorites? What do you want to see more of? Or less of?

3 comments on “top 6’s

  • Wow, that’s a lot of vampires. I’ll be honest and tell you I haven’t really enjoyed this whole vampire craze. Those pointy-toothed monsters have scared me since I was a child. Seriously, I couldn’t sleep at night when I was young because I had to stay up to keep an eye on the window to make sure Bella Lugosi wasn’t out there trying to get in (damn overactive imagination). I still sleep with the blanket pulled up tight around my neck.

  • Vampires were one thing I don’t think ever really scared me. Death scared me at one point in my life, but mostly because of that whole judgment thing. Then I got over it because I “knew” I was going to go to Hell. So I stopped being so scared of death and more afraid of pain.

    Then the disease came and now it’s more…when /is/ it coming, Lord? XD

  • Leave a Reply

