Nano Day 6: Extra Word Paddage

Published November 6, 2011 by caitlinnicoll

My NaNo advice to you to today is simple: For the most Effective word paddage, give all you characters really long names. I’m not saying names like Triglaananonneski, or Wiewbbjixlinsdandsommnavichowitch. I mean names like John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt, or the prince from the Rodgers and Hammerstein version of Cinderella who had like fifty names or something like that. And have everyone in your book refer to them that way. No Nicknames in your NaNo draft!

“Hey, John Jacob Jingleheimer Schimdt, I want a name like you!”

“Well, Christopher Edward James Sydney Michael, I think you’re name is pretty swell too!”

Ok, I know that dialogue is terrible, but hey, it’s early and I was up late. I need coffee.

You could also give them long and winding nicknames, if that’s most your style. Like Voldemort for instance, he has the long nickname of He Who Must Not Be Named. There, instead of using simply Voldemort, you have added an extra 5words for every time his name is said.Which, doing completely made up and extremely complicated mathematical equations, added 6 pages to each HP book (10 to Deathly Hallows. It was a really long book).

And don’t let it stop with your characters. Give all your nouns impossibly long titles, like The Room In Which We Sit Down To Eat Delicious Food, or The Place That We Do Not Go Because It Is Scary.

It’s tedious writing, by your word count will thank you later.

Also, don’t forget to enter the character sketch giveaway. There are still 3 days left, but hurry! Here are the bookmarks, all finished and prettied up:

And the back

8 comments on “Nano Day 6: Extra Word Paddage

  • This is hilarious. I almost never use word padding. I just naturally do long-winded and twisted sentences when I start writing fast, which is super good for NaNo. This year, though, my characters all have First Name + Last Name + de + City. At least all of the noblish one. And you made me realise how NaNo-handy that was. ^^

  • Dangit. Charlee beat me. I was going to recommend big booms… 🙂

    Clearly, I’m doing this wrong! *runs off to create long names for characters*

    Where did you get the widget on the right that shows your word count?

  • Leave a Reply

