Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Historical Fiction Books

Published March 13, 2012 by caitlinnicoll

This meme is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

 

10. The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

This is about Mary, Queen of Scots and her years in captivity. I’m not usually a fan of Philippa Gregory, but I really liked this book, mainly because of the subject.

9. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy

This book was so fun! It’s an alternate history where a British noble saves the French aristocrats during the French Revolution.

8. Snow Falling on Cedars by David Gutterson

The book is basically about the hardships Japanese-Americans had to face during WWII.

7. Shinju by Laura Joh Rowland

Shinju is a murder mystery that takes place in feudal Japan. The protagonist is a detective, trying to unravel the mystery of a suspicious suicide. Shinju is the term for a double suicide between lovers. For comparison, Romeo and Juliet committed Shinju.

6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

I personally preferred old Jacob to young Jacob, but it is a fascinating look into circus life during the Great Depression. Plus, Rosie is so charming! *Wants a pet elephant*.

5. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See

This a about two girls growing up in 19th century China who become Laotung, or “old sames”, which is a permanent bond of friendship. And, ah, the foot binding!

4. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

I loved how vivid and lush this book was.

3. Angelique and the King By Anne Golon

This is the second book in a series that takes place in 17th century France, during Louis XIV reign, but it is my favorite of all of them. I wish they would translate the last 3 into English…

2. The Book thief by Markus Zusak

I’ve pretty much already said before why I love this book.

And

1. The Silmarrion by J.R.R. Tolkien

Wait, that’s not historical fiction? Fine.

1. Musashi by Eiji Yoshikawa

So, Miyamoto Musashi is my favorite historical figure. Ever. He was such a bad-ass. He is also widely considered to be one of the greatest swordsman who ever lived. Also, this book was the basis for one of my favorite mangas, Vagabond.

 

I sense a theme here…

9 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Historical Fiction Books

  • The Book Thief is pretty amazing. I am listening to Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly right now and it’s fabulous. I am learning a lot about the French Revolution.

  • Have to read the Book thief for school. Looking forward to it. Watched Water for Elephants. Hope the book is just as good. Read Memoirs of a Geisha. Loved it. Thanks for the list! More books for my reading list!

  • I’ve read Lisa See’s work and I loved Water for Elephants and the Book Thief. I agree with Megan; Revolution by Donnelly is a great way to learn about the French Revolution!

  • Leave a Reply

